Thurgood Marshall Journalism Awards 2007
Thurgood Marshall Journalism Awards - 2007

The Death Penalty Information Center is proud to announce the winners of the organization’s 11th Annual Thurgood Marshall Journalism Awards. The awards honor journalists who have made an exceptional contribution to coverage of capital punishment issues.

This year’s ceremony was held at the National Press Club on Thursday June 28 and featured keynote speaker Mike Farrell, star of the television show M*A*S*H and a lifelong human rights activist.

This year’s award recipients were:
  • Gary Fields, for Outstanding Print Journalism. Fields’ Wall Street Journal article, “Criminal Mind”, explored the moral and legal implications of administering capital punishment to the mentally ill through the case of Tennessee death row inmate Gregory Thompson.
  • Alan Johnson of the Columbus Dispatch, and Eleanor Hayes, Amy Rogan, Jamie Walters, and Jeff Gostomski of the Ohio News Network for Outstanding Broadcast Journalism. This team’s multi-media news package investigating the innocence claim of Ohio death row inmate John Spirko was one of the most expansive of its kind, including extensive coverage in the Columbus Dispatch, a one-hour ONN televised special, and a news story on the Columbus affiliate of CBS-TV.
  • Maurice Possley and Steve Mills of the Chicago Tribune for Outstanding Investigative Journalism. Their new series examined Texas’ execution of Carlos de Luna and revealed evidence that the state may have executed an innocent man.
  • The staff of The Angolite, who received special recognition for coverage of criminal justice issues. The Angolite, an award-winning prison magazine, has been covering topics related to the penal system for over 50 years. Their coverage has included a variety of hard-hitting news features on the death penalty.
See Thurgood Marshall Journalism Awards.